- Bargaineering - http://www.bargaineering.com/articles -
AARP Driver Safety Course Promotion Code
Posted By Jim On 02/21/2013 @ 7:15 am In Cars | 2 Comments
AARP offers an online driver safety course  (it’s a defensive driving course) for $19.95 and it qualifies as a defensive driving course with respect to auto insurance premium discounts. By law in 34 states, auto insurance company is required to give you a discount if you complete a “classroom-based, state-approved driver-improvement course.” Those states are, according to AARP , Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, the District of Columbia, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia and Wyoming.
Now, the AARP course is online and only 21 states require a discount if you take an online course: Alaska, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Idaho, Kansas, Maine, Minnesota, Montana, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Dakota, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Virginia and Washington.
The AARP Driver Safety course is normally $19.95, $15.95 for AARP members, but there is a promotion going on now according to members of Fatwallet  – for Black History Month they’re offering the course for just $5 if you use the promo code BHM2013.
There are some qualifications… according to mistercheap:
Some states the DMV Law is indeed min. age of 55 years to get the discount on this course (you can take it at 50, but you get no benefit from it for ins. savings purposes). SO BE SURE TO CHECK WITH YOUR INSURANCE COMPANY PRIOR TO SIGNING UP!!
also, in most states, this course will get you the discount ONLY IF ALL DRIVERS on the policy take the course, if husband and wife on policy, be sure YOU BOTH sign up for $5ea. AGAIN, CHECK WITH INSURANCE CO. FIRST!! (also, if one is over 55 and the other under 55 (or 50 as the case may be), it may still not work, so be sure to flush out all these issues with your ins. co first before enrolling)
Finally, in most states, this course completion will earn you the discount for a THREE YEAR PERIOD starting with YOUR NEXT PREMIUM RENEWAL DATE. So if you take it now, and you insurance renews on 6/1/13, it may earn you the discount for 36 months from June 1, 2013.
IF YOU ALREADY SIGNED UP AND FIND OUT YOU HAVE TO BE 55 and are not yet 55 and want a refund of your $5, simply call 1-800-350-7025 and they will help you. Just explain that your DMV/insurance laws require you have to be 55 to get the discount and you didn’t realize that when you signed up. This was the case for me, and I just called and they cancelled my course/processed a refund to my Visa.
If you aren’t sure, call your insurance and ask if this will save you money. Sadly, Maryland is in neither list so I can’t take advantage of this deal.
(Photo Credit: Thomas Hawk )
Article printed from Bargaineering: http://www.bargaineering.com/articles
URL to article: http://www.bargaineering.com/articles/aarp-driver-safety-promotion-code.html
URLs in this post:
 Tweet: http://twitter.com/share
 Email: mailto:?subject=http://www.bargaineering.com/articles/aarp-driver-safety-promotion-code.html
 driver safety course: http://www.aarpdriversafety.com/
 according to AARP: http://www.aarp.org/home-garden/transportation/info-05-2010/auto_insurance_discounts.html
 Fatwallet: http://www.fatwallet.com/forums/hot-deals/1255403/
 Thomas Hawk: http://www.flickr.com/photos/51035555243@N01/42972816/
Thank you for reading!