- Bargaineering - http://www.bargaineering.com/articles -

Bargaineering 2009 Annual Financial Review Week

Posted By Jim On 11/29/2009 @ 12:45 pm In Personal Finance | 21 Comments

Since Career Week [3] was so successful, mostly because of all of your insightful comments, I thought I’d bring you another “week” of focused posts. This time, since we are so near the end of the year, we’ll be focusing on an annual financial review. In reality, the topics in this series apply to any time of the year,not just year’s end, but you have to take a look at least once a year.

I hope the tryptophan [4] from Thanksgiving has cleared your system because I need you fully awake this week. In each of the four areas, I’ve picked a few topics designed to “optimize” your personal finances. Some of them are very basic, like getting more interest out of your savings accounts, while others may be a little more complex, like optimizing your asset allocation. Regardless of the topic, I hope you let me know what you think of it. You guys made Career Week a success, I hope we can do the same with the Year End Review.

Banking

  • 10 Reasons Why Credit Unions Kick Ass [5] – This was an oldie but goodie that I think does a great job kicking off the week.
  • How to Minimize Bank Account Fees [6] – Banks make a killing off fees and chances are you’ve been dinged sometime in the last year. I’ll share some tips on how to avoid them and an easy way to get them back.
  • Highest Savings Account Rates [7] – The quickest way to squeeze a couple more nickels out of every day is to put your savings in a place that will give you a higher interest rate.

Credit

Investing

Taxes

  • How to Adjust Your Tax Withholding [14] – If you’re one of the many millions that receive a tax rebate in the Spring, consider adjusting your withholding so you don’t give the government an interest free loan each year.
  • How to Spend Down Your FSA [15] – An FSA is great for getting tax free money for medical expenses, but we always end up with a few bucks left over near the end of the year. Here are a few ideas for how to spend it wisely.
  • How to Set FSA Amount [16] – Put a little too much money into your FSA last year, in this post I write about how we set our FSA amounts for the year.

I hope you enjoy the week and let me know if there’s a topic you think I should cover!

(Photo: joelanman [17])


Article printed from Bargaineering: http://www.bargaineering.com/articles

URL to article: http://www.bargaineering.com/articles/bargaineering-2009-annual-financial-review-week.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[2] Email: mailto:?subject=http://www.bargaineering.com/articles/bargaineering-2009-annual-financial-review-week.html

[3] Career Week: http://www.bargaineering.com/articles/bargaineering-career-week-2009.html

[4] tryptophan: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tryptophan

[5] 10 Reasons Why Credit Unions Kick Ass: http://www.bargaineering.com/articles/10-reasons-why-credit-unions-kick-ass.html

[6] How to Minimize Bank Account Fees: http://www.bargaineering.com/articles/how-to-minimize-bank-account-fees.html

[7] Highest Savings Account Rates: http://www.bargaineering.com/articles/highest-savings-account-rates.html

[8] Charge Cards: The Forgotten Option: http://www.bargaineering.com/articles/charge-cards-the-forgotten-option.html

[9] What is Credit Utilization?: http://www.bargaineering.com/articles/credit-utilization.html

[10] Review Your Credit Report Annually: http://www.bargaineering.com/articles/review-your-credit-report-annually.html

[11] Annual Credit Report Reminder: http://www.bargaineering.com/articles/annual-credit-report-reminder.html

[12] BVC #23: Your Mutual Fund May Be Ripping You Off: http://www.bargaineering.com/articles/your-mutual-fund-may-be-ripping-you-off.html

[13] How to Determine Your Asset Allocation: http://www.bargaineering.com/articles/how-to-determine-your-asset-allocation.html

[14] How to Adjust Your Tax Withholding: http://www.bargaineering.com/articles/how-to-adjust-your-tax-withholding.html

[15] How to Spend Down Your FSA: http://www.bargaineering.com/articles/how-to-spend-down-your-fsa.html

[16] How to Set FSA Amount: http://www.bargaineering.com/articles/how-to-set-fsa-amount.html

[17] joelanman: http://www.flickr.com/photos/joelanman/366190064/sizes/l/

Thank you for reading!