- Bargaineering - http://www.bargaineering.com/articles -

Bargaineering 2010 New Graduate Guide

Posted By Jim On 05/16/2010 @ 7:05 am In Personal Finance | 15 Comments

Welcome to Bargaineering’s 2010 New Graduate Guide! This entire week will be devoted to focusing on financial advice for new graduates. It doesn’t matter if you graduated high school, college, or graduate school, the information we present this week will help you get started on the right foot.

When you start working, you will be inundated with a lot of information. It’ll be difficult to separate the important from the mundane and the applicable from the irrelevant. I’ll go through a checklist of what new graduates need to know about real life. Many of these lessons were borne out of my own experiences, which likely won’t be much different than what graduates are experiencing today.

To give you a sense of my experience, I graduated college shortly after the dot com bust. The economy as a whole wasn’t nearly as weak as it is now but my area of expertise, software, was. The world as I knew it shares many of the characteristics of the world many graduates are seeing today. Hopefully that insight will prove to provide helpful color to the discussions.

Links will go live once the articles are published.

Establishing a Foundation

Financial Basics

Your First Place

Taxes

Tips for New Graduates

I hope you enjoy this week and if you can’t use this information, please pass it along to someone who may be graduating soon!

(Photo: carbonnyc [14])


Article printed from Bargaineering: http://www.bargaineering.com/articles

URL to article: http://www.bargaineering.com/articles/bargaineering-2010-new-graduate-guide.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[2] Email: mailto:?subject=http://www.bargaineering.com/articles/bargaineering-2010-new-graduate-guide.html

[3] How to Build Your Financial Foundation: http://www.bargaineering.com/articles/how-to-build-your-financial-foundation.html

[4] Start Retirement Savings Early: http://www.bargaineering.com/articles/start-retirement-savings-early.html

[5] Why You Need A Budget: http://www.bargaineering.com/articles/why-you-need-a-budget.html

[6] How to Choose the Right Health Insurance Plan: http://www.bargaineering.com/articles/how-to-choose-the-right-health-insurance-plan.html

[7] How Does Your FICO Credit Score Work: http://www.bargaineering.com/articles/how-does-your-fico-credit-score-work.html

[8] How to Find Your First Apartment: http://www.bargaineering.com/articles/how-to-find-your-first-apartment.html

[9] Don’t Buy A House (Yet): http://www.bargaineering.com/articles/dont-buy-a-house-yet.html

[10] Furnishing Your New Place: http://www.bargaineering.com/articles/furnishing-your-new-place.html

[11] Decode and Understand Your Paycheck: http://www.bargaineering.com/articles/decode-and-understand-your-paycheck.html

[12] How Tax Withholding Works: http://www.bargaineering.com/articles/how-tax-withholding-works.html

[13] Your Take: Tips for New Graduates: http://www.bargaineering.com/articles/your-take-tips-for-new-graduates.html

[14] carbonnyc: http://www.flickr.com/photos/carbonnyc/143186839/

Thank you for reading!