- Bargaineering - http://www.bargaineering.com/articles -

Bargaineering Career Week 2009

Posted By Jim On 11/15/2009 @ 12:42 pm In Career | 23 Comments

With unemployment over 10%, the pool of willing workers has never been bigger or more qualified. If you’re in that group, you’re probably wondering whether you’ll ever find a job. While I’m self employed now, I have been fired before and I know how much it sucks to have someone else tell you that you’re no longer needed. Over the next week, we’re going to cover four major areas of job hunting: career planning, resumes, finding opportunities, and nailing the interview.

If you look below, you’ll see a list of the posts that will make up Career Week. When the posts are published, I’ll make them active links, but I wanted to give you a sneak peek at what’s to come…

Monday: Career Planning

If you are without a job or just planning a change, the first step in that process is 100% mental.

  • Rethink Your Career [3] – Sometimes you have to find the silver lining the cloud. If you recently lost your job, maybe it’s a good time to rethink your career path.
  • Find A Job, Then A Career [4] – When it comes right down to it, you may not have the luxury of finding the perfect “career” and have to settle for a “job” that pays the bills. That’s fine too, it’s about surviving first, thriving next.
  • Boost Morale & Fill Time by Volunteering [5] – If you find yourself restless, a little down that the responses to your resume haven’t been as frequent, you could take this time to volunteer in your community. It’s time well spent and can re-energize you to help a cause you believe in.

Tuesday: Resume Reconstruction

Wednesday: On The Hunt

  • How To Find A New Job [9] – Another post that wasn’t originally part of Career Week 2009, this post establishes a good approach towards finding a new job. It sets up a good framework for finding leads.
  • Best Employment & Job Search Websites [10] – There are too many websites and many are a waste of your time, I profile a handful that are worth the time it takes to submit your resume.
  • How to Properly Use Headhunters [11] – This post details what to watch out for with the scammers and how to utilize the legitimate ones.

Thursday: Interview Room

Friday: Your Thoughts

We’ll round out the week with a special Career Week Your Take question where you can share your best career tips [16] with the rest of the Bargaineering readers.

(Photo: sanspoof [17])


Article printed from Bargaineering: http://www.bargaineering.com/articles

URL to article: http://www.bargaineering.com/articles/bargaineering-career-week-2009.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[2] Email: mailto:?subject=http://www.bargaineering.com/articles/bargaineering-career-week-2009.html

[3] Rethink Your Career: http://www.bargaineering.com/articles/rethink-your-career.html

[4] Find A Job, Then A Career: http://www.bargaineering.com/articles/find-a-job-then-a-career.html

[5] Boost Morale & Fill Time by Volunteering: http://www.bargaineering.com/articles/boost-morale-fill-time-by-volunteering.html

[6] How to Write A Kick-Ass Cover Letter: http://www.bargaineering.com/articles/how-to-write-a-kick-ass-cover-letter.html

[7] Ten Tips to a Kick Ass Resume: http://www.bargaineering.com/articles/10-tips-to-a-kick-ass-resume.html

[8] Ten Resume Mistakes You Must Avoid: http://www.bargaineering.com/articles/ten-resume-mistakes-you-must-avoid.html

[9] How To Find A New Job: http://www.bargaineering.com/articles/how-to-find-a-new-job.html

[10] Best Employment & Job Search Websites: http://www.bargaineering.com/articles/best-employment-job-search-websites.html

[11] How to Properly Use Headhunters: http://www.bargaineering.com/articles/how-to-properly-use-headhunters.html

[12] How to Dress for an Interview: http://www.bargaineering.com/articles/how-to-dress-for-an-interview.html

[13] Common Interview Questions and How to Answer Them: http://www.bargaineering.com/articles/how-to-answer-the-10-most-common-interview-questions.html

[14] How To Write an Interview Followup Thank You Letter: http://www.bargaineering.com/articles/how-to-write-an-interview-followup-thank-you-letter.html

[15] Interview like a Politician: http://www.bargaineering.com/articles/interview-like-a-politician-dominate-the-conversation.html

[16] best career tips: http://www.bargaineering.com/articles/your-take-your-best-career-tip.html

[17] sanspoof: http://www.flickr.com/photos/sanspoof/3700317390/sizes/m/

Thank you for reading!